Examples (Online Encyclopedia or Dictionary):
More Examples:
Authors/Editors
If an encyclopedia or dictionary entry does not indicate a specific author or co-authors, begin the citation with a group author such as Merriam-Webster or American Psychological Association, followed by the year of publication in round brackets.
Titles
Capitalize the first letter of the first word of the title of the entry and the title of the encyclopedia or dictionary.
Capitalize the first letter of proper names in titles, such as names of places or people. Example: Canada
Publication Information for Online Encyclopedias and Dictonaries
Include the publisher name for an encyclopedia or dictionary where clearly identified, just as with a book or ebook. If the author and publisher are the same, omit the publisher element.
Some electronic content is assigned a unique number called a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). If a DOI is provided for an encyclopedia or dictionary, include it after the name of the encyclopedia or dictionary of the entry and edition beginning with "https:"
You do not need to put a period after a DOI number.
If you accessed the encyclopedia or dictionary through a website, provide the url. If the encyclopedia or dictionary provides stable archived versions, link to the latest one without "retrieved from"; no statement of the retrieval date is necessary in this case. A statement of the retrieval date should be provided for any web pages that are dynamic and not archived. When in doubt, provide a retrieval date to help the reader in case the entry you use is updated between the time you read it and the time your reader looks at it.
In-Text Citation - Page Numbers
Page numbers may not be available for an online dictionary or encyclopedia entry. Here are some options if you have no page numbers and you are quoting directly:
Count the paragraphs, and use that number where you'd normally put the page number. Put the word "para." in front of it. Example: (Smith, 2012, para. 3). This example refers to the third paragraph in the entry.
If the entry has section headings, you can use those. Encyclopedia entries often have section headings. Enter the section heading name, followed by the word "section" and then the number of the paragraph within that section. Example: (Smith, 2012, Climate section, para. 2). This example refers to the second paragraph under the Climate section of the entry.
If there is only one paragraph and no headings, as may be the case for many dictionary entries, skip the page/paragraph/section information and give the author's name and date only. Example: (Smith, 2012)
Note: All citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent in a Reference List.
A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.
Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition, volume number if there is more than one, page range). Publisher Name.
Maher, J. (2010). Work and mothering. In A. O’Reilly (Ed.), Encyclopedia of motherhood (Vol. 3, pp. 1278-1283). SAGE.
(Author's Last Name, Year)
Example: (Maher, 2010)
(Author's Last Name, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)
Example: (Maher, 2010, p. 1279)
Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.
Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). https://doi number
Stonard, J. (2016). Wall, Jeff(rey). In Grove art online. https://doi.org/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.
article.T096536
(Author's Last Name, Year)
Example: (Stonard, 2016)
(Author's Last Name, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)
Example: (Stonard, 2016, para. 1)
Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.
Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication).Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). Retrieved date from url
Beck, J., & Foley, D. (2015). Music composition. In The Canadian encyclopedia. Retrieved January 20, 2020, from https://thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article
/music-composition
(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year)
Example: (Beck & Foley, 2015)
(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)
(Beck & Foley, 2012, para. 1)
Name of Group Author. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). Retrieved from date url
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Plagiarism. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved January 18, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/plagiarism
(Group author, Year)
Example: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.)
(Group author, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)
Example: (Merriam-Webster, n.d., The Kidnapping Roots of Plagiarize section)
Note: This entry has only section headings so only this information can be included the citation.
Title of entry. (Year article was edited, Month Day). In Wikipedia. URL for archived version of the article
Note: To find and cite the latest archived version, select "view history" in the Wikipedia entry and choose the most recent date.
Wikipedia may not be considered an acceptable source for a college or university assignment. Be sure to evaluate the content carefully and check your assignment.
Veterinary medicine. (2019, December 29.). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Veterinary_medicine&oldid=931891450
("Title of entry", Year)
Example: ("Veterinary Medicine," 2019)
("Title of entry", year, Section Name section, para. Paragraph Number)
Example: ("Veterinary Medicine," 2019, Paraveterinary Workers section, para. 1)
Note: You may cite the section heading and count the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from. The title of the Wikipedia article and the Section heading are in title case (i.e. with a capital letter at the beginning of most words in the title), but only the title of the article is in quotation marks.
Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (Volume number, pp. first page of entry-last page of entry). Publisher Name often shortened.
King, P.N., & Wester L. (1998). Hawaii. In The world book encyclopedia (Vol. 9, pp. 88-110). World Book.
(Author's Last Name, Year)
Example: (King & Wester, 1998)
(Author's Last Name, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)
(King & Wester, 1998, p. 90)
Name of Group Author. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (Volume number if any, pp. first page of entry-last page of entry or p. page number for one page entry). Publisher Name often shortened.
Chambers Harrap. (2007). Crop circles. In U. McGovern (Ed.), Chambers dictionary of the unexplained (p. 27). Chambers.
(Group Author, Year)
Example: (Chambers Harrap, 2007)
(Group Author, Year, p. Page Number)
Example: (Chambers Harrap, 2007, p. 27)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
