Chicago/Turabian Citation Guide (17th Edition): Bibliography & Sample Papers

• Quick Rules for a Chicago/Turabian Bibliography
• Bibliography & Sample Papers
• Appendix
• End-of-Paper Checklist

Your research paper ends with a list of all the sources cited in the text of the paper. This is called a bibliography.

See examples in the Bibliography & Sample Papers box on this page.

Here are eight quick rules for this list:

1. Start a new page for your bibliography (e.g., if your paper is 4 pages long, start your bibliography on page 5).
2. Centre the title, Bibliography, at the top of the page. Do not bold or underline it. Look for the alignment option in Word.
3. Double-space the list.
4. Start the first line of each citation at the left margin; each subsequent line should be indented (also known as a hanging indent.
5. Put your list in alphabetical order. Alphabetize the list by the first word in the citation. In most cases, the first word will be the author’s last name. Where the author is unknown, alphabetize by the first word in the title, ignoring the words a, an, the.
6. For each author, give the last name followed by a comma and the first name followed by a period.
7. Italicize the titles of full works: books, audiovisual material, websites.
8. Do not italicize titles of parts of works, such as: articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals / essays, poems, short stories or chapter titles from a book / chapters or sections of an Internet document. Instead, use quotation marks.

This sample paper includes a sample assignment page from the SUNY Broome Library with example of how to include your student information, footnotes, and bibliography in Chicago format.

It can be used as a template to set up your assignment.

If you are adding an appendix to your paper there are a few rules to follow that comply with Chicago guidelines:

• Place tables and other supporting data sets or examples at the end of your paper. Your paper should be numbered Appendix 1, Appendix 2, etc.
• Insert a footnote as you refer to each appendix item and direct the reader to the proper entry, as with a footnote that reads: See Appendix 1.

Finished your assignment? Use this checklist to be sure you haven't missed any information needed for Chicago/Turabian style.