Frequently Asked Questions:
Tips and Formatting.
Examples (Books):
Examples (eBook From a Library Database):
Examples (ebooks):
More Examples:
Tips and Formatting.
Examples (Encyclopedia or Dictionary From Library Database):
Examples (Encyclopedia or Dictionary From a Website):
Examples (Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry In Print):
More Examples:
Frequently Asked Questions:
Examples (Journal Article From Library Database with DOI):
Examples (Journal Article From Library Database no DOI):
Examples (Journal Article From a Website):
Examples (Journal Article in Print):
More Examples:
Frequently Asked Questions:
Examples (Magazine Article From a Library Database):
Examples (Magazine Article in Print):
More Examples:
Frequently Asked Questions:
Tips: Articles from Websites and Formatting.
Examples:
Frequently Asked Questions:
Examples (Interviews):
Tips and Formatting.
Examples (Streaming Video):
More Examples:
MLA Handbook by Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.In your works cited list, abbreviate months as follows:
January = Jan.
February = Feb.
March = Mar.
April = Apr.
May = May
June = June
July = July
August = Aug.
September = Sept.
October = Oct.
November = Nov.
December = Dec.
Spell out months fully in the body of your paper.
