Note: For your Works Cited list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.
A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Document: Subtitle if Any." Statistics Canada, Date of publication, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Note: Occasionally the author will be listed as Statistics Canada. If the publication is authored and published by Statistics Canada, start your citation with the title of the document.
| Works Cited List Example |
Drolet, Marie. "Gender Differences in the Financial Knowledge of Canadians." Statistics Canada, 28 Apr. 2016, www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2016001/article/14464-eng.htm. Accessed 16 June 2016. |
| In-Text Citation Example |
(Author's Last Name) (Drolet) |
Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Document: Subtitle if Any. Statistics Canada, Date of publication.
Note: Occasionally the author will be listed as Statistics Canada. If the publication is authored and published by Statistics Canada, start your citation with the title of the document.
| Works Cited List Example |
Langlet, Eric. Aboriginal Children's Survey, 2006: Concepts and Methods Guide. Statistics Canada, 18 Nov. 2008. |
| In-Text Citation Example |
(Author's Last Name Page Number) (Langlet 11) |
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Document: Subtitle if Any." Date of publication, Statista.
Note: Since Statista is the name of the publisher and database, to avoid repetition, omit publisher information and list Statista as the database at the end of the citation.
| Works Cited List Example |
UNWO. "Number of International Tourist Arrivals Worldwide from 2005 to 2017, by Region (in Millions)," 2018, Statista. |
| In-Text Citation Example |
(Author's Last Name or Corporate Name) (UNWO) |
Note: While MLA 8th edition recommends including URLs, Columbia College Library recommends that URLs be left out when citing a work found in a library database. This is because most URLs from library databases will stop working after the session ends. If your instructor requires a URL, look for the "Permalink" icon in the article description and place the URL generated after the name of the database.
MLA Handbook by Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.In your works cited list, abbreviate months as follows:
January = Jan.
February = Feb.
March = Mar.
April = Apr.
May = May
June = June
July = July
August = Aug.
September = Sept.
October = Oct.
November = Nov.
December = Dec.
Spell out months fully in the body of your paper.
