Photo from Flickr, created by user NS Newsflash. Available under a Creative Commons license.
Not sure whether your article is from a newspaper? Look for these characteristics:
The Libraries subscribe to the newspapers The Montreal Gazette, The Globe and Mail, and Le Devoir.
Author
It can sometimes be difficult to find out who the author of a website is. Remember that an author can be a corporation or group, not only a specific person. Author information can sometimes be found under an "About" section on a website.
If there is no known author, start the citation with the title of the website instead.
Date
The best date to use for a website is the date that the content was last updated. Otherwise look for a copyright or original publication date. Unfortunately this information may not be provided or may be hard to find. Often date information is put on the bottom of the pages of a website.
If you do not know the complete date, put as much information as you can find. For example you may have a year but no month or day.
Access Date
Date of access is now optional in MLA 8th edition. If no publication date is included, we recommend including the date you last accessed the site.
Note: For your Works Cited list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.
A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Newspaper [city of newspaper if local paper with city name not in name], Date of Publication, p. Page Number if given. Name of Database.
Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Schmidt, Sarah. "Companies Fail the Test; Junk Food Marketing Aimed at Kids Faulted." The Gazette [Montreal], 10 Mar. 2010, p. A.11. Canadian Newsstand.
Note: If an article ends with a question mark or exclamation mark (!), you do not need to add a period to mark the end of the title.
(Author's Last Name Page Number)
(Schmidt A11)
Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation.
Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Companies").
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Newspaper [City of newspaper if local paper with city name not in name of newspaper], vol. Volume Number, no. Issues Number, Date of Publication, p. Page Number if given. Name of Database.
Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Crawford, Maxine. "Research in a Celtic Nation." Psynopsis: Canada's Psychology Newspaper, vol. 39, no. 3, Summer 2017, p. 32. Canadian Points of View Reference Centre.
Note: You do not need to add the city of publication to the name of a nationally published newspaper.
(Author's Last Name Page Number)
(Crawford)
Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation.
Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Companies").
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Website, Date of Publication, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Morrison, Malcolm. "TSX Recovers on Greece News." Toronto Star, 23 June 2011, www.thestar.com/business/economy/2011/06/
23/tsx_recovers_on_greece_news.html. Accessed 7 June 2016.
Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.
(Author's Last Name)
(Morrison)
Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.
Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("TSX Recovers").
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Newspaper, Date of Publication, p. Page Number.
Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Smith, Bill. "Talks on Bosnia Bog Down Over Borders." Toronto Star, 18 Aug. 2012, p. B6.
(Author's Last Name Page Number)
(Smith B6)
Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation.
Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Talks").
If there are two authors, cite the the authors as follows (list authors in the order they are given on the page, not alphabetically):
Last Name, First Name of First Author, and First Name Last Name of Second Author.
Example: Smith, James, and Sarah Johnston.
If there are three or more authors, cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name Middle Name followed by a comma et al.
Example: Smith, James, et al.
MLA Handbook by Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.In your works cited list, abbreviate months as follows:
January = Jan.
February = Feb.
March = Mar.
April = Apr.
May = May
June = June
July = July
August = Aug.
September = Sept.
October = Oct.
November = Nov.
December = Dec.
Spell out months fully in the body of your paper.
