Frequently Asked Questions:
Examples (Interviews):
The category "Personal Communications" is used in situations where you are taking information from a source such as an email thread or an interview you conducted with someone else. In this case the work isn't published anywhere, someone else couldn't find and read the full interview or email on their own.
Sometimes you may find interviews with people in journals, magazines, newspapers, websites, etc. In those cases don't use the "Personal Communications" category. Instead, cite them according to where you found the information.
For example, an interview in a magazine would be cited like a magazine article. That way anyone reading your assignment could easily track down the interview for themselves by finding the same magazine article.
Note: For your Works Cited list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.
A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.
Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name. Interview. By Interviewer First Name Last Name. Day Month Year of interview.
Myers, Elizabeth. Interview. By Bob Jones. 12 Mar. 2016.
(Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed)
Example: (Myers)
Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation. For example:
Myers explained that "media violence is dangerous because it has been eroticized."
Learn more: See the MLA Style Centre Website "How do I Document an Interview in MLA Style?"
Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name. "Subject Line of Email." Received by Name of Person Who Received Email, Day Month Year of Email. Email Interview.
Smith, Paula. "Re: Food and Family." Received by Joseph Tan, 20 May 2016. Email Interview.
Note: The words Email Interview are added to the citation to specify that it is an interview.
(Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed)
Example: (Smith)
Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation. For example:
Smith asserted that food builds relationships because of a cultural appreciation inherent in enjoying a meal with family.
Learn more: See MLA Handbook, p. 29 for citing emails, p. 52. for descriptions at the end of citations.
Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name. Personal Interview. Day Month Year of interview. By Interviewer First Name Last Name. Telephone Interview.
Ball, William. Interview. By Hyun Jae Lee. 30 Jan. 2016. Telephone Interview.
Note: The words Telephone Interview are added to the citation to specify that it is an interview.
(Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed)
Example: (Ball)
Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation. For example:
Ball stated that "infections are often contracted while patients are recovering in the hospital."
Learn more: See the MLA Style Centre Website "How do I Document an Interview in MLA Style?"
MLA Handbook by Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.In your works cited list, abbreviate months as follows:
January = Jan.
February = Feb.
March = Mar.
April = Apr.
May = May
June = June
July = July
August = Aug.
September = Sept.
October = Oct.
November = Nov.
December = Dec.
Spell out months fully in the body of your paper.
